How Many Carbs Is Too Many?

Discussion in 'Low carb diet' started by Khaleesi, Sep 1, 2014.

1. Khaleesi

Khaleesi New Member

Hi all I have been doing a very low carb (ketogenic) diet for a few months now and its suiting me quite well, but im curious to know how many carbs you guys eat a day and what kind of levels you are getting??

2. Dibatonas

Dibatonas New Member

I have probably about 200g carbs a day.

3. Khaleesi

Khaleesi New Member

what are your levels like with this amount of carbs??

4. Dibatonas

Dibatonas New Member

They're alright but could be better

5. tag201279

tag201279 New Member

I'm on 30g of carbs per meal. Thinking I could go lower cause even with just 30 my sugars aren't the best.

6. Air_Dare

Air_Dare New Member

anywhere between 170g-200g a day is good for me. im not too strict though particularly on special occasions like birthdays and thanksgiving. its important to have treat days as it keeps you motivated. easy to fall off the wagon if you're too strict and heavy on yourself

7. Millymay

Millymay Member

I have just started cutting down on the carbs but I don't know enough about it all I do know is I've already started to loose weight which is good for me If anyone can advise an older member it would be appreciated.

8. LadyStarlea

LadyStarlea New Member

I was only diagnosed type 2 last week. Been going low carb since. I recently read in a diabetes magazine that 30 to 60 grams of carbs a meal was what was suggested as a good target and since have been shooting for staying in that range. Really can't wait till I can talk to someone in diabetes education about it as I still feel hungry and not sure that it is it ok to have snacks between the three major meals.

9. candysays

candysays New Member

I'm type 1 and take in around 60-100g per day.

I used to follow a low fat diet and that meant taking larger doses of insulin than I do now and dealing with big swings from low to high and back.