Diabetes Got Me Down!

Discussion in 'Type 1 Diabetes' started by Rhi, Feb 26, 2015.

1. Rhi

Rhi New Member

Hello I was diagnosed with Diabetes about two years ago. Was first diagnosed about 2 years ago and have been on insulin for about a year. I was initailly told I had insulin resistance (type 2) and was put on oral medications which did not work. So my dr ran a c-peptide and found that i was hardly producing any insulin. Although I am on insulin my sugar is still up and down all day. I work very long 12 shifts at hospital that is 45 mins away from where I live. My work days between driving and work are usually 16 hr days. I am also a pre-nursing student. Lately I have been feeling weak, exhausted and have been getting debilitating migraines. Overall I just feel like crap. I am so moody at work and just count down the hours until I can be back in my bed. I do eat well and do work out. I am starting to think that my body can't handle things the used too and that I can't function at times. I am only 27 and its so frustrating I feel like I can't function like a "normal person". I am just putting too much strain on my body? I have talked to my dr and have had blood work and everything else is normal. I take vitamins and nothing seems to boost my energy. I guess I am looking to see if anyone else feels this way or has had his experience with their diabetes.

2. candysays

candysays New Member

Having diabetes and managing insulin is tough even when you're not doing 16 hour days.

How have your blood sugar levels been? -as this could influence the energy you have through the day

Don't expect miracles from vitamins as they don't usually have an effect unless you know specifically that you have deficiency. Try to work what's likely the root source of the lack of energy. It could simply be the long days and changing work hours (which is already very demanding) and sugar levels could be playing a part too.

3. Rhi

Rhi New Member